Our Deacons

The Deacons are an elected group of long-standing members — senior not so much in the sense of age, but by dint of their participation in the affairs of All Souls.

The by-laws of All Souls Church state that the Deacons assist the Minister at the Communion Service and perform such other functions as may be assigned to them by the Society or the Board of Trustees. In practice, since the by-laws were adopted on February 14, 1820 (last amended in 2006), the functions and responsibilities of the Board of Deacons have been greatly expanded. The Deacons serve as the collective memory of the church. To be elected a Deacon, a nominee must have given extensive service to the congregation, such as an officer and/or member of the Board of Trustees, an officer or member of one of the major committees, or rendered distinguished service in a number of volunteer capacities.

Although the Deacons are nominated and elected each year at the Annual Meeting with one or more new members added to the roster, Deacons continue to serve year after year. Because of their many years of association with All Souls, the Deacons are able to apply their valuable experience to current problems and help the Board of Trustees and the ministers evaluate matters from a perspective that includes the past. In that way, active and involved Deacons can provide a measure of historical perspective, stability and continuity. Deacons seek to uphold tradition but are careful not to impede the changes a vital institution must make.


The Communion Service at All Souls, held four times a year, is based on early Unitarian traditions and is quite different from communion at other churches. The service recalls and celebrates the life of Jesus of Nazareth, and of “all women and men who have striven to be followers of his way of life.” The simple sharing of bread and wine by the community does not refer to any supernatural elements. In keeping with Universalist tradition, the service is open to everyone, with no requirements as to church membership or theological belief.


The Deacons Award is given in recognition of long term and/or exemplary service to the Church and the Congregation. A committee of the Deacons selects an individual, drafts an appropriate citation and presents the name to the Board of Deacons for approval. The award is then presented to the recipient by a member of the Deacons at the Annual Congregational Meeting in February. In 2015, a Youth Award was added by vote of the Deacons, and may be awarded if there is a qualified candidate.

List of Deacons Award Honorees

The following are members of All Souls Church elected to the Board of Deacons, February, 2017. Dates indicate the year of taking The Right Hand of Fellowship. They will serve until the 2018 Annual Meeting and can be renominated each year.

Beryl Jones-Woodin, President
Miles Chapin, Vice President
Evelynn Gioiella, Secretary/Treasurer

Sabrina Alano2008
Lorraine Allen1979
David Andrews1979
Astrid Baumgardner1986
C. William Bechman1987
Christina Bellamy1984
Daniel N. Beshers1963
Tom Blum1996
Robin Bossert1997
Anne S. Bradley1988
Julie Brannan1989
Louise Brockett1997
Judy Chang1986
Miles Chapin1998
George Collins1994
John Conti2001
Dan Cryer1994
Sheila Darnborough1992
George Dorsey1994
Sandra Ekberg1986
Victor Fidel2004
Sandra Lotz Fisher1983
Jeffrey Friedlander1990
Jane Furse Friedman1988
Evelynn Gioiella1978
Christine Goodwin1980
Peter Green1996
Pamela Healey2007
Mary-Ella Holst1964
Arthur Hopkirk1985
Barbara Hosein1986
Carolyn Jackson1994
Deborah Jackson1992
Michele Jawin1985
Beryl Jones-Woodin2000
Frederick Joseph1966
Carol Kirkman2004
Eric Lamm1991
Jane Levenson1963
Donald Marks1965
Suzanne May1985
Betty McCollum2007
Marilyn Mehr2007
Ricardo Mestres1969
Steve Michelman1992
Peggy Montgomery1994
James Moskin1983
Marilynn Scott Murphy1986
Danforth Newcomb1978
Melanie Niemiec1988
Jeanne North1986
Nancy Northup1982
Winifred Olsen1988
Neil Osborne1983
Frank Patton1997
Laura Pedersen2003
Guy Quinlan1974
Tom Reese1997
John Reidy1985
Larry Reina2002
David Rockefeller, Jr.2007
Judy Samuelson1987
Eric Sivin1997
Kathleen Taylor1997
Deborah Taylor2004
Pat Taylor1988
Jennifer Vermont-Davis1999
Hanan Watson2002
Olumide Wilkey2004